Award Winners for Kids

American Library Association Notable Books
Each year, a committee of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's books. Check out these great reads!

Randolph Caldecott Medal

Awarded annually to the illustrator of the most distinguished picture book for children. 

Children's Choice Book Award                                                                                                   

Winners of the Children's Choice Book Awards--a component of Children's Book Week--were announced by the Children's Book Council (CBC), in association with the CBC Foundation.The awards celebrate the books that kids and teens love in six categories: Kindergarten to 2nd Grade Book of the Year, 3rd to 4th Grade Book of the Year, 5th to 6th Grade Book of the Year, Teen Choice Book Award, Author of the Year, and Illustrator of the Year.

Coretta Scott King Award

Awarded annually to authors and illustrators of African decent whose work promotes the "American Dream."

Edgar Award

The Edgar Allan Poe Awards (the Edgars) are awarded to authors of distinguished work in various categories of the genre including Young Adult and Juvenile mysteries.

Golden Kite Award

The only children's literary award judged by a jury of peers. More than 1,000 books are entered each year. Eligible books must be written or illustrated by SCBWI members, and submitted either by publishers or individuals. An award book and honor book are chosen annually in the area of non-fiction, fiction, picture book text, and picture book illustration.

Horn Book Awards

First presented in 1967 and customarily announced in June, the Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards are among the most prestigious honors in the field of children's and young adult literature. Winners are selected in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction. Two Honor Books may be named in each category.

Ezra Jack Keats Award

The Ezra Jack Keats Book Award was established in 1985 to recognize and encourage authors and illustrators new to the field of children's books. Many past winners of the EJK Book Award have gone on to distinguished careers creating many books beloved by parents, children, librarians and teachers across the country.

Newbery Medal

Awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished book for children.

Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

Awarded annually to encourage authors to write historical fiction.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Awarded annually to the outstanding book for beginning readers